Why Carmine Isn’t Vegan

Nederlandse Versie

Last week, VegNews announced that millions of cochineal insects will be spared by the Hansen sweet potato – which can be used to impart a fire-engine red color in foods such as gummy bears, cakes, and cereals. In this article I’ll explain more about carmine, also known as E120, and why I avoid it.

Different names for the same product
Carmine, also called cochineal, crimson lake or carmine lake, natural red or E120, is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained from the aluminium salt of carminic acid. Carmine is used to give food, like sweets and yoghurts, but also cosmetics, a red or pink color.

As it is stated as an e-number on labels, we might feel that there’s nothing wrong with it. E-numbers are substances that are added to improve food properties. A substance doesn’t simply get an e-number – there’s a whole process behind it. The most important thing is that the substance is not allowed to be harmful to one’s health. The E-number is, therefore, a guarantee that the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) has checked the substances and that they can be used safely. The law specifies in which products an addition may be used and how much can be added to a maximum of products.

Carminic acid and how it’s extracted
You might be thinking, “Okay, so what’s the problem with carmine? It’s just another E-number”. The problem is how it is extracted. The pigment is produced from scale insects such as the cochineal scale and certain porphyrophora species (source). In other words: carmine is made from beetles. Only female lice are used; the male lice have wings and live too short, only to fertilize the female lice. The eggs then are also used to extract pigment from; this is usually called carmine extract.

The pigment is produced by drying, crushing, and then boiling the bodies of cochineal beetles to extract carminic acid (source). 70,000 cochineal insects are killed to produce one pound of dye (source). That sure as hell doesn’t sound vegan, does it?

A ‘natural’ product
Carmine is often branded as a ‘natural’ dye and can be found in almost anything. Although I feel like it’s quite misleading, I get why companies are allowed to call carmine a natural product, since no toxic chemicals are used for deriving the pigment. When cosmetics claim to be cruelty-free, natural, or organic, this doesn’t necessarily mean that it is carmine-free (source).

artur-rutkowski-97622-unsplash

Alternatives to carmine
Luckily, this doesn’t mean you have to miss out on your red lipstick or pink dye. There are a lot of natural alternatives to carmine that are vegan friendly. Reds from fruits and vegetables can be used, and as VegNews announced last week, fiery red sweet potatoes can replace carmine in products. There are vegan alternatives out there, which means using bugs for red pigment, in my opinion, shouldn’t be necessary anymore.

Do you try to avoid products containing carmine? Let me know in the comments!


jakob-puff-461643-unsplash

Afgelopen week kondigde VegNews aan dat miljoenen cochenille-insecten gespaard kunnen blijven door de zoete aardappel Hansen, die gebruikt kan worden om een vuurrode kleur te geven aan voedingsmiddelen zoals gummy’s, cake en cereals. In dit artikel geef ik meer uitleg over karmijn, ook bekend als E120, en waarom ik het vermijd.

Verschillende namen voor hetzelfde product
Karmijn, ook wel cochenille, karmozijnrood of karmijn genoemd, is een felrood pigment verkregen uit het aluminiumzout van karmijnzuur. Karmijn wordt gebruikt om voedsel, zoals snoep en yoghurt, kleur te geven, maar geeft ook cosmetica een rode of roze kleur.

Omdat het als e-nummer op etiketten wordt vermeld, zou je kunnen denken dat er niets mis mee is. E-nummers zijn stoffen die worden toegevoegd aan producten om voedseleigenschappen te verbeteren. Iets mag niet zomaar een e-nummer genoemd worden; er zit een heel proces achter. Het belangrijkste is dat de stof niet schadelijk is voor iemands gezondheid. Het e-nummer is daarom een garantie dat de Europese Autoriteit voor Voedselveiligheid de stoffen heeft gecontroleerd en dat ze veilig gebruikt kunnen worden. De wet specificeert in welk product een toevoeging gebruikt mag worden, en hoeveel ervan gebruikt mag worden.

Het winnen van karmijn
Misschien denk je nu: “Oké, maar wat is er mis met karmijn? Het is gewoon een e-nummer”. Het probleem is de manier waarop het geëxtraheerd wordt. Het pigment wordt gewonnen uit de cochenilleluis. Alleen de vrouwtjesluizen worden gebruikt; de mannetjes hebben vleugels en leven kort, net lang genoeg om de vrouwtjes te bevruchten. Ook uit de eitjes wordt karmijn gewonnen, wat karmijnextract genoemd wordt (bron).

Het pigment wordt geproduceerd door de kevers te drogen, pletten en vervolgens te koken om karmijnzuur te extraheren. 70.000 cochenille-insecten worden gedood om één pond kleurstof te produceren (bron). Dat klinkt niet bepaald vegan.

Een ‘natuurlijk’ product
Karmijn wordt vaak neergezet als een ‘natuurlijke’ kleurstof en kan overal in gebruikt worden. Hoewel ik de term ‘natuurlijk’ nogal misleidend vind, begrijp ik wel waarom bedrijven karmijn een natuurlijk product mogen noemen – er worden immers geen giftige chemicaliën gebruikt. Wanneer cosmetica beweren ‘cruelty-free’, natuurlijk of organisch te zijn, betekent dit niet dat het noodzakelijk vrij van karmijn is (bron).

artur-rutkowski-97622-unsplash

Alternatieven voor karmijn
Gelukkig betekent dit niet dat je je rode lippenstift of roze kleurstof moet missen. Er zijn genoeg natuurlijke alternatieven voor karmijn die vegan friendly zijn. Rood van fruit en groenten kan worden gebruikt, en zoals VegNews vorige week aankondigde, kunnen zoete aardappels karmijn vervangen. Er zijn genoeg vegan alternatieven, wat betekent dat het gebruik van insecten voor rood pigment naar mijn mening niet meer nodig zou hoeven zijn.

Probeer jij karmijn ook te vermijden? Laat het me weten in de reacties!

Photos by jakobpuff and Artur Rutkowski on Unsplash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s